Totus Tuus - To Jesus through Mary.

To impel the beauty of the new evangelization – this is the charism of the Heralds of the Gospel; Its founder, Monsignor João Dias explains."The Heralds of the Gospel is a private association of faithful with a very special charism based essentially on three points: the Eucharist, Mary and the Pope."

The Heralds of the Gospel are an International Association of the Faithful of Pontifical Right, the first to be established by the Holy See in the third millennium, during a ceremony which occurred during the feast of the Chair of St. Peter (February 22) in 2001.

The Heralds of the Gospel strive to be instruments of holiness in the Church by encouraging close unity between faith and life, and working to evangelize particularly through art and culture. Their apostolate, which differs depending upon the environments in which they work, gives pride of place to parish animation, evangelizing families, providing catechetical and cultural formation to young people, and disseminating religious Iiterature.

Tuesday, 17 February 2015

Palestinian Nuns to Be Canonized Saints in May

Palestinian Nuns to Be Canonized Saints in May
Pope Francis Will Canonize Founder of First Palestinian Congregation

Vatican City, February 17, 2015 (
 Two Palestinian religious sisters and a French nun will be declared saints on May 17, reported Independent Catholic News.
 This Saturday, the Vatican announced that Blessed Mary Alphonsine Danil Ghattas, Blessed Mary of Jesus Crucified Baouardy and Blessed Jeanne Emilie de Villeneuve will be canonized saints.
Born in Jerusalem in 1843, Mary Alphonsine Danil Ghattas would enter the Congregation of the Sisters of St Joseph of the Apparition at age 15.  
The blessed is the founder of the first Palestinian congregation, the Congregation of Sisters of the Most Holy Rosary of Jerusalem, and is known for working tirelessly to help young people and Christian mothers.
This sister, who had a special mystic affinity for the Mother of God, passed away in 1927.
Maria Baouardy was born in Abellin, a village in Upper Galilee, in 1846 to Arab parents. She was baptized in the Melchite Greek Catholic Church. From her early youth, she experienced many sufferings together with extraordinary mystic phenomena.
In France, she entered the Carmel of Pau. From there, she was sent to India to found new Carmels, and then to Bethlehem, where she died in 1878. In 1983, she was beatified by Pope John Paul II.
Born in Toulouse, France in 1811, Jeanne Emilie de Villeneuve would go on to found the Congregation of the Sisters of the Immaculate Conception. The congregation is committed to educating poor girls, children, the sick and faraway missions.
The French sister died of cholera in 1854. In 2009, she was beatified by Pope Benedict XVI.
(February 17, 2015) © Innovative Media Inc.
 See also: 

Two Holy Land Nuns to be canonized

ROME – The French i.Mediaagency specializing in Vatican current affairs, has published a wire announcing that Pope Francis has formally agreed to the canonization of three nuns, of whom two come from the Holy Land, the Blessed Marie-Alphonsine and Blessed Mary of Jesus Crucified. It is a feast for the diocese, and especially for the Carmel of Bethlehem and the Sisters of the Rosary. The canonizations could take place as early as 2015.

Two of the religious of the Holy Land and a French religious will soon be canonized. During an audience granted to Cardinal Angelo Amato, prefect of the Congregation for the Causes of Saints, December 6, 2014, Pope Francis authorized the promulgation of the decree recognizing miracles attributed to Mariam Bawardi, Marie-Alphonsine Ghattas and Jeanne Emilie de Villeneuve. The Pope also authorized the recognition of “heroic virtues” of five servants of God, three nuns and two mothers.
The canonization of Blessed Mariam of Jesus Crucified Bawardi (1846-1878) and Blessed Marie-Alphonsine Ghattas, two nuns of the Holy Land, could be celebrated in 2015. Mariam Bawardi (1846-1878) was born in the village of Ibillin, Galilee. She is the founder of the Carmel of Bethlehem. During her life, she received the grace of the stigmata. A mystic, she also had many dreams in which she received communications from Jesus.
Marie Alphonsine Danil Ghattas (1843-1927), in turn, was born in Jerusalem. She is co-founder of the Congregation of the Sisters of the Rosary dedicated to pastoral work and, later, to help the elderly and young children, to serve the poor, but also to fight against moral poverty.
The French nun Jeanne Emilie de Villeneuve (1811-1854) will also soon be canonized. She founded in 1836 the Congregation of Our Lady of the Immaculate Conception of Castres. This congregation currently has about 700 religious and works in 16 countries, where it has ample social activity with fifty colleges in which are enrolled each year about 35,000 young people.
The Pope also validated the publication of decrees concerning the “heroic virtues” of five other women. The Church will consequently recognize a required miracle that allows the beatification of three nuns and two lay persons: The Italian Sr. Carmela di Gesù (1858-1948), formerly Francesca Prestigiacomo, founder of the Institute of the Sisters of the Sacred heart of incarnate Word; the Spanish Sr. María Seiquer Gayá (1891-1975), founder of the Apostolic Sisters of Christ crucified; the Czech Sr. Vojtěcha Hasmandova (1914-1988), superior general of the Congregation of the Sisters of Charity of St. Charles Borromeo; the Spanish lay woman and mother, Práxedes Fernández (1886-1936), a member of the Third Order Dominicans; and finally the laywoman and mother of an Italian family, Elisabetta Tasca (1899-1978).
Source: i.Média: CL/AMI

No comments: